Ticker feed
Manchester Airports Group (MAG), which operates Manchester, East Midlands, and London Stansted, has confirmed a cyberattack that exposed the personal data of around 8.7 million customers. Hackers took contact details, vehicle registrations and postcodes over the weekend of August 22–23, then demanded a ransom for the data's return — which MAG refused to pay.
MAG only became aware on Tuesday, August 25, and says it cut off further access and notified affected customers. For the majority, the data was limited to the email address given when signing up to airport WiFi; the more detailed records came from car park, lounge, and fast-track bookings.
The hacked system didn't hold bank or payment card details, MAG says, and at no point was passenger safety or aviation security compromised. The group says it knows the hackers' identity and has informed the relevant authorities.
The Information Commissioner's Office has received MAG's breach report and says it is assessing the information provided. Affected customers should watch for suspicious emails, texts or calls, and avoid opening unknown attachments.
Source: BBC News
Manchester Airports Group (MAG), which operates Manchester, East Midlands, and London Stansted, has confirmed a cyberattack that exposed the personal data of around 8.7 million customers. Hackers took contact details, vehicle registrations and postcodes over the weekend of August 22–23, then demanded a ransom for the data's return — which MAG refused to pay.
MAG only became aware on Tuesday, August 25, and says it cut off further access and notified affected customers. For the majority, the data was limited to the email address given when signing up to airport WiFi; the more detailed records came from car park, lounge, and fast-track bookings.
The hacked system didn't hold bank or payment card details, MAG says, and at no point was passenger safety or aviation security compromised. The group says it knows the hackers' identity and has informed the relevant authorities.
The Information Commissioner's Office has received MAG's breach report and says it is assessing the information provided. Affected customers should watch for suspicious emails, texts or calls, and avoid opening unknown attachments.
Source: BBC News
CISA gave federal agencies until 24 August 2026 to patch CVE-2026-73570, a Zimbra flaw allowing unauthenticated remote code execution through crafted SMTP requests. That deadline has now expired. The CVE record scores it 8.9 (High); Zimbra and CERT Polska both describe it as critical.
The flaw only bites where three things line up: the optional zimbra-snmp package is installed, SNMP notifications are enabled via snmp_notify, and the swatchdog service is running. Only the last of those is on by default. Zimbra shipped the permanent fix in ZCS 10.1.20 on 20 July, and every earlier version is affected.
Exploitation was confirmed on 17 August, when Poland's CERT Polska flagged an ongoing campaign. CISA added the flaw to its KEV catalog on 21 August and gave three days, under the tiered model it adopted in June citing AI-accelerated exploit development. Shadowserver counted 155 compromised internet-facing instances on 20 August and 274 by the 22nd, plus roughly 8,200 unpatched.
Patching closes the entry point but does not remove persistence installed before it, Sectigo's Jason Soroko notes. CERT Polska says to check /var/log/zimbra.log for unexpected "Service status change" entries, and anything the zimbra user created in the last 30 days under the Jetty webapps directories or /tmp. Treat an exposed server as an incident, not a patch.
Source: Dark Reading
CISA gave federal agencies until 24 August 2026 to patch CVE-2026-73570, a Zimbra flaw allowing unauthenticated remote code execution through crafted SMTP requests. That deadline has now expired. The CVE record scores it 8.9 (High); Zimbra and CERT Polska both describe it as critical.
The flaw only bites where three things line up: the optional zimbra-snmp package is installed, SNMP notifications are enabled via snmp_notify, and the swatchdog service is running. Only the last of those is on by default. Zimbra shipped the permanent fix in ZCS 10.1.20 on 20 July, and every earlier version is affected.
Exploitation was confirmed on 17 August, when Poland's CERT Polska flagged an ongoing campaign. CISA added the flaw to its KEV catalog on 21 August and gave three days, under the tiered model it adopted in June citing AI-accelerated exploit development. Shadowserver counted 155 compromised internet-facing instances on 20 August and 274 by the 22nd, plus roughly 8,200 unpatched.
Patching closes the entry point but does not remove persistence installed before it, Sectigo's Jason Soroko notes. CERT Polska says to check /var/log/zimbra.log for unexpected "Service status change" entries, and anything the zimbra user created in the last 30 days under the Jetty webapps directories or /tmp. Treat an exposed server as an incident, not a patch.
Source: Dark Reading
Medical device maker Boston Scientific confirmed on 26 August 2026 that a cyberattack is disrupting its global operations, after identifying the incident the day before. The company says a network outage has left it unable to fully process or ship customer orders, and that the timeline for a full restoration is not yet known.
Boston Scientific filed a Form 8-K with the SEC and brought in outside cybersecurity experts to investigate and contain the threat. Shares dropped as much as 6% on the news. The filing adds that the full scope and impacts remain unknown and that the company has not yet determined whether the incident is reasonably likely to have a material impact.
No attacker has been named, no group has claimed responsibility, and the company has not confirmed ransomware or any data theft. It also hasn't said whether the disruption reaches customers with its devices and implants.
Downstream buyers are already being warned: NHS Supply Chain issued a supplier notice to its customers about the disruption on 27 August.
Source: CBS News
Medical device maker Boston Scientific confirmed on 26 August 2026 that a cyberattack is disrupting its global operations, after identifying the incident the day before. The company says a network outage has left it unable to fully process or ship customer orders, and that the timeline for a full restoration is not yet known.
Boston Scientific filed a Form 8-K with the SEC and brought in outside cybersecurity experts to investigate and contain the threat. Shares dropped as much as 6% on the news. The filing adds that the full scope and impacts remain unknown and that the company has not yet determined whether the incident is reasonably likely to have a material impact.
No attacker has been named, no group has claimed responsibility, and the company has not confirmed ransomware or any data theft. It also hasn't said whether the disruption reaches customers with its devices and implants.
Downstream buyers are already being warned: NHS Supply Chain issued a supplier notice to its customers about the disruption on 27 August.
Source: CBS News
Australian authorities arrested two Western Australia men on Wednesday, August 26, over their alleged roles in TeamPCP, the cybercrime group that injected credential-stealing code into Aqua Security's Trivy scanner, Checkmarx KICS and LiteLLM in March. The AFP says that code potentially compromised more than 1,000 organizations worldwide.
Police didn't name the pair; Australian media identified them as Ruben Ian Thomson, 21, and Louis Michael Gaebler, 23. Between them they face 14 charges, including four counts each of unauthorized modification of data with intent to commit a serious offence. Only Thomson faces a proceeds-of-crime count over $100,000 and a password-refusal charge.
The AFP estimates the code enabled theft of more than 500,000 credentials and at least 300GB of data, with global cleanup costs in the hundreds of millions. CERT-EU tied the European Commission's cloud breach to the poisoned Trivy release. Flare assesses with high confidence that Thomson led TeamPCP.
Both men appeared in Perth Magistrates Court on Thursday. Thomson withdrew a bail application after the magistrate signalled she would refuse it, and both remain in custody until September 18.
Source: CyberScoop
Australian authorities arrested two Western Australia men on Wednesday, August 26, over their alleged roles in TeamPCP, the cybercrime group that injected credential-stealing code into Aqua Security's Trivy scanner, Checkmarx KICS and LiteLLM in March. The AFP says that code potentially compromised more than 1,000 organizations worldwide.
Police didn't name the pair; Australian media identified them as Ruben Ian Thomson, 21, and Louis Michael Gaebler, 23. Between them they face 14 charges, including four counts each of unauthorized modification of data with intent to commit a serious offence. Only Thomson faces a proceeds-of-crime count over $100,000 and a password-refusal charge.
The AFP estimates the code enabled theft of more than 500,000 credentials and at least 300GB of data, with global cleanup costs in the hundreds of millions. CERT-EU tied the European Commission's cloud breach to the poisoned Trivy release. Flare assesses with high confidence that Thomson led TeamPCP.
Both men appeared in Perth Magistrates Court on Thursday. Thomson withdrew a bail application after the magistrate signalled she would refuse it, and both remain in custody until September 18.
Source: CyberScoop
A phishing-as-a-service toolkit called Mirage2FA has been linked to attacks on 3 518 organizations, with 4 532 Microsoft 365 accounts potentially compromised, researchers at ANY.RUN report. Active since September 2024, it skips malware entirely — a browser-executed HTML, XHTML or SVG attachment, or a QR code, steers the victim to a fake Microsoft login page.
Whatever the victim types — password and live 2FA code alike — an adversary-in-the-middle proxy passes through to Microsoft in real time. What the attacker keeps is the authenticated session cookie sent back on success, and it works until it expires or someone revokes it — no password or MFA needed.
Cookie theft was the largest single outcome — 4,561 of 9,332 recorded compromise events, just under half — affecting 2,541 accounts. Of the 4,532 accounts potentially compromised overall, 63.7% were in the U.S.; technology, manufacturing and education were the hardest-hit sectors.
A password reset won't fix this. Revoke every active session, and move high-risk users to phishing-resistant MFA — FIDO2 keys or passkeys, which are bound to the real site and can't be relayed. ANY.RUN also recommends blocking those attachment types and shortening session lifetimes.
Source: Cybersecurity News
A phishing-as-a-service toolkit called Mirage2FA has been linked to attacks on 3 518 organizations, with 4 532 Microsoft 365 accounts potentially compromised, researchers at ANY.RUN report. Active since September 2024, it skips malware entirely — a browser-executed HTML, XHTML or SVG attachment, or a QR code, steers the victim to a fake Microsoft login page.
Whatever the victim types — password and live 2FA code alike — an adversary-in-the-middle proxy passes through to Microsoft in real time. What the attacker keeps is the authenticated session cookie sent back on success, and it works until it expires or someone revokes it — no password or MFA needed.
Cookie theft was the largest single outcome — 4,561 of 9,332 recorded compromise events, just under half — affecting 2,541 accounts. Of the 4,532 accounts potentially compromised overall, 63.7% were in the U.S.; technology, manufacturing and education were the hardest-hit sectors.
A password reset won't fix this. Revoke every active session, and move high-risk users to phishing-resistant MFA — FIDO2 keys or passkeys, which are bound to the real site and can't be relayed. ANY.RUN also recommends blocking those attachment types and shortening session lifetimes.
Source: Cybersecurity News
George House Trust, a Manchester-based HIV charity, has warned users that their sensitive health data may have been stolen by hackers. The breach, which occurred at the end of July, exposed personal details including addresses, phone numbers, and case notes about users' engagement with the charity.
The incident stems from a cyberattack on Beacon, a tech company whose database system is used by 1.5K+ UK charities. George House Trust was notified on 3 August but waited three weeks before alerting users. So far, no stolen data appears to have been misused. Investigations are ongoing.
Source: BBC News
George House Trust, a Manchester-based HIV charity, has warned users that their sensitive health data may have been stolen by hackers. The breach, which occurred at the end of July, exposed personal details including addresses, phone numbers, and case notes about users' engagement with the charity.
The incident stems from a cyberattack on Beacon, a tech company whose database system is used by 1.5K+ UK charities. George House Trust was notified on 3 August but waited three weeks before alerting users. So far, no stolen data appears to have been misused. Investigations are ongoing.
Source: BBC News
CISA added a Zimbra vulnerability, CVE-2026-73570 (CVSS 8.9, High), to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on August 21, giving federal civilian agencies until August 24 to patch or stop using the software — a deadline that has now passed. The fix is Zimbra Collaboration Suite 10.1.20, released July 20.
The flaw lets unauthenticated attackers run arbitrary OS commands as the Zimbra user through crafted SMTP requests. Exposure is narrower than it sounds — only servers with the optional zimbra-snmp package installed and SNMP notifications enabled are affected. CERT Polska flagged an active campaign hunting them on August 16.
Merlin Group's Robert Costello notes that compromising a Zimbra server exposes messages, calendars, contacts and attachments, along with internal naming conventions and maintenance schedules — enough to fuel follow-on attacks. Patching won't evict an intruder already inside, so exposed servers need checking against CERT Polska's indicators, not just updating.
Black Hills Information Security's John Strand argues AI is compressing the gap between disclosure and working exploit, pushing urgent patching closer to incident response than routine maintenance.
Source: Dark Reading
CISA added a Zimbra vulnerability, CVE-2026-73570 (CVSS 8.9, High), to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on August 21, giving federal civilian agencies until August 24 to patch or stop using the software — a deadline that has now passed. The fix is Zimbra Collaboration Suite 10.1.20, released July 20.
The flaw lets unauthenticated attackers run arbitrary OS commands as the Zimbra user through crafted SMTP requests. Exposure is narrower than it sounds — only servers with the optional zimbra-snmp package installed and SNMP notifications enabled are affected. CERT Polska flagged an active campaign hunting them on August 16.
Merlin Group's Robert Costello notes that compromising a Zimbra server exposes messages, calendars, contacts and attachments, along with internal naming conventions and maintenance schedules — enough to fuel follow-on attacks. Patching won't evict an intruder already inside, so exposed servers need checking against CERT Polska's indicators, not just updating.
Black Hills Information Security's John Strand argues AI is compressing the gap between disclosure and working exploit, pushing urgent patching closer to incident response than routine maintenance.
Source: Dark Reading
A cyberattack hit Ceva Logistics on July 29, knocking out eight European warehouses and halting shipments. The French-headquartered logistics giant told corporate client Bol about the intrusion on August 1 — but the notices that reached consumers came from the retailers themselves, not from Ceva.
Several major organizations confirmed impact, including Dutch retailers Bol and De Bijenkorf, ING, Ace & Tate, Amsterdam's Ajax football club, and game company Valve. Exposed data includes names, addresses, phone numbers, emails and order details.
De Bijenkorf said no payment details, IBANs, card data, usernames or passwords were involved; Ceva never held Steam payment credentials either. Valve says Ceva keeps order records up to 90 days, and has warned customers to expect fake emails, texts, and calls about their hardware orders.
Who's behind the attack remains unknown. Ceva has not publicly disclosed the incident, responded to press enquiries, or said how the intruders got in or how many people are affected.
Source: SecurityWeek
A cyberattack hit Ceva Logistics on July 29, knocking out eight European warehouses and halting shipments. The French-headquartered logistics giant told corporate client Bol about the intrusion on August 1 — but the notices that reached consumers came from the retailers themselves, not from Ceva.
Several major organizations confirmed impact, including Dutch retailers Bol and De Bijenkorf, ING, Ace & Tate, Amsterdam's Ajax football club, and game company Valve. Exposed data includes names, addresses, phone numbers, emails and order details.
De Bijenkorf said no payment details, IBANs, card data, usernames or passwords were involved; Ceva never held Steam payment credentials either. Valve says Ceva keeps order records up to 90 days, and has warned customers to expect fake emails, texts, and calls about their hardware orders.
Who's behind the attack remains unknown. Ceva has not publicly disclosed the incident, responded to press enquiries, or said how the intruders got in or how many people are affected.
Source: SecurityWeek
Expel researcher Marcus Hutchins and colleagues found SynkLoader in a client's network on August 18, 2026, and believe it was first deployed around July 28. It spreads through Microsoft Teams messages in which the attacker poses as the target company's own IT help desk, steering users to a fake "PowerShell Cleaner" installer hosted on Azure storage.
The toolkit pairs a bundled Python environment with DLLs disguised as Microsoft runtime files, running native Windows behaviour inside Python processes to cut the signals EDR relies on. Its PhishLocker module raises a fake Windows lock screen and traps the user until they enter a password — and in SSO environments, that credential opens more than the desktop.
PhishLocker is one of seven modules; the others include a remote shell, a reverse proxy into the internal network, and desktop streaming with input takeover. A profiler module counts the size of the victim's Active Directory domain — the reconnaissance ransomware crews use to size a ransom demand.
Expel puts only low-to-medium confidence on its assessment that the toolkit belongs to a ransomware group or an initial access broker. In the meantime, verify help-desk requests through a known channel, treat unsolicited MSI installers as hostile, and if a lock screen appears unexpectedly, hit Alt+Tab — the fake one is just a window.
Source: Dark Reading
Expel researcher Marcus Hutchins and colleagues found SynkLoader in a client's network on August 18, 2026, and believe it was first deployed around July 28. It spreads through Microsoft Teams messages in which the attacker poses as the target company's own IT help desk, steering users to a fake "PowerShell Cleaner" installer hosted on Azure storage.
The toolkit pairs a bundled Python environment with DLLs disguised as Microsoft runtime files, running native Windows behaviour inside Python processes to cut the signals EDR relies on. Its PhishLocker module raises a fake Windows lock screen and traps the user until they enter a password — and in SSO environments, that credential opens more than the desktop.
PhishLocker is one of seven modules; the others include a remote shell, a reverse proxy into the internal network, and desktop streaming with input takeover. A profiler module counts the size of the victim's Active Directory domain — the reconnaissance ransomware crews use to size a ransom demand.
Expel puts only low-to-medium confidence on its assessment that the toolkit belongs to a ransomware group or an initial access broker. In the meantime, verify help-desk requests through a known channel, treat unsolicited MSI installers as hostile, and if a lock screen appears unexpectedly, hit Alt+Tab — the fake one is just a window.
Source: Dark Reading
The Department for Energy Security and Net Zero has contacted power companies to advise them about the risk of cyberattacks, after a small UK generator was taken offline for four days last month. The Telegraph reported the attack was carried out by hackers affiliated with the Iranian regime.
Neither the government nor the National Cyber Security Centre would identify the site, citing security reasons. DESNZ said the incident affected a small-scale generator and that at no point was there a risk to the UK's energy system. Britain's network runs a number of smaller gas units that supply short-term power when demand spikes.
The government is updating its cyber security regulations and working on a new energy resilience strategy, due later this year. Iran has long been rated a capable cyber power, and Western defenders have spent this year braced for state-linked activity amid its conflict with the US — while seeing little of it so far..
Source: BBC News
The Department for Energy Security and Net Zero has contacted power companies to advise them about the risk of cyberattacks, after a small UK generator was taken offline for four days last month. The Telegraph reported the attack was carried out by hackers affiliated with the Iranian regime.
Neither the government nor the National Cyber Security Centre would identify the site, citing security reasons. DESNZ said the incident affected a small-scale generator and that at no point was there a risk to the UK's energy system. Britain's network runs a number of smaller gas units that supply short-term power when demand spikes.
The government is updating its cyber security regulations and working on a new energy resilience strategy, due later this year. Iran has long been rated a capable cyber power, and Western defenders have spent this year braced for state-linked activity amid its conflict with the US — while seeing little of it so far..
Source: BBC News